The Jeff Harnar Awards accepting submissions

2024 Jeff Harnar Awards

The Jeff Harnar Awards for Architecture are now accepting submissions for 2024. The Jeff Harnar Awards program was created by Garrett Thornburg in 2007 to honor the memory of architect Jeff Harnar, known for his groundbreaking design in contemporary architecture in New Mexico. The deadline to apply is Monday, March 11, 2024. For 2024 the program includes the following six categories:

  • Contemporary Architecture in the Southwest ($10,000 Prize)
  • Unbuilt Architecture ($3,000 Prize)
  • Unbuilt Landscape Architecture ($3,000 Prize)
  • Social Justice in Architecture ($3,000 Prize – Jury’s selection from all submissions)
  • Student Architecture (First Place $2,000 & Second Place $1,000)
  • Student Landscape Architecture (First Place $2,000 & Second Place $1,000)

The Jeff Harnar Awards are made possible by the Thornburg Foundation, who has sponsored this program for the past 17 years. The University of New Mexico’s School of Architecture + Planning organizes the competition and determines both the award process and selection of the jury.

The award presentation and celebration will be held on Friday, April 12, 2024 at 5:30 p.m. at the School of Architecture + Planning’s Garcia Honda Auditorium, located in George Pearl Hall at UNM.

For more information and to apply for the 2024 award categories, please see the links listed under “Available Programs” below. For the full submission requirements be sure to choose your desired category and select “Preview Full Application” at the bottom of each page.

For additional information regarding the history of the awards, please visit: To see an archive of past winners, please visit:

If you have additional questions, please contact Anthony Fettes at